skip to Main Content

Evening 10s Rds 8 & 9 and news round-up

Stalwart member of the club and regular of the time-trial scene Lewes Wanderer Vincent (Vince) Busk (70) sadly died from his injuries following a collision with a lorry on the A22 Maresfield bypass while riding his bike on the morning of Thursday 1st July.  He will be greatly missed by all who knew and rode with him.

The seemingly annual road repairs to the well-used A22 necessitated the organisers arrange a late change of course on the evening of Monday in order that Round 8 of Lewes Wanderers 10-mile time trials go ahead.

Perhaps due to the uncertainty as to whether the event would go ahead or the unpredictable weather only half-a-dozen athletes signed on to test themselves down The Broyle to Ringmer, back through Laughton to Golden Cross and back along an unaffected section the aforementioned highway to East Hoathly.

Vince Busk and Gavin Richards by Joe Benians

Taking the honours for the first time in this series was Paul Fletcher (trainSharp) in 23 minutes and 23 seconds.  Exactly a minute back was Gavin Richards with Peter Baker taking bronze a further 30 seconds behind.  Darren Haynes was 4th in 25:22 ahead of Vince Busk (26:39) who just got the better of Graham Knowles (26:43).

Peter Baker was part of a field of 14 for Eastbourne Rovers’ 25-mile Championship on the evening of Thursday 24th June.  His time of 1 hour 1 minute and 8 seconds placed him 7th while Adrian Hills was 13th in 1:35:52.

The loose chippings of a week earlier had been sufficiently swept away come Monday 28th June that Round 9 of the “Evening 10s” could revert back to the faster A22 course.  Ten racers came out to play and normal order for 2021 was restored with Joe Benians equalling his recently-set personal best and taking the spoils in 20 minutes and 55 seconds; just ahead of Pete Morris (Team TMC) in 21:09.

Gav Richards (23:44) again edged out Peter Baker (23:50) with Mike Hannay (24:47) just beating Vince Busk (25:03) who was narrowly outside his personal best;  unlike 7th placed Neil Edwards who saw an improvement of 29 seconds to 25:21.  Graham Faultless was 8th in 26:09 with John Mankelow (27:05) and Dave Beale (27:28) completing the results.

Sally Turner (trainSharp) smashed her personal best for the distance and came within 13 seconds of being fastest female with her time of 20 minutes and 40 seconds in the Lea Valley CC 10-mile TT south-east of Cambridge on Saturday 3rd July. 

Past and present went head-to-head in the Southborough & District Wheelers 25 on the showery morning of Sunday 4th July and the result was a tie.  Brett Davis (trainSharp) and Joe Benians shared the victory in a time of 55 minutes and 2 seconds, a personal best by over a minute by the Wanderer. Duncan Fuller was 22nd in 1:02:06, while Peter Baker (1:08:02) finished 29th of the 34 to stay the course.

Back To Top